Road Trip

They said, the journey of a thousand miles begins with about 30 liters of petrol in your Chevy Beat. What they didn’t say, is it could leave you with blistered feet and an aching bum

I’m not very good with good byes. Come to think of it, I am not very good with any socially awkward situation that requires unnecessary exchange of banalities. Turns out, in times of desperation, my use of sense of humor as a self-defense mechanism fails! My last day good-byes were a disaster and I forgot to mark half the folks in my final farewell email (not to brag, but the e-mail in itself was pretty neat stuff :P). To top all that, I was all alone at home on my last day.

But, none of that mattered. Next day, I was about to embark on a Road Trip, Delhi to Patna. Needless to say, I was pretty darn excited. Also, as expected, the kill-joy of my life resurfaced with an early morning ‘All-the-best/Apology’ ping. I was pissed, but I kept it aside. I was about to go on my first bloody Road Trip 😀

Ok, ok, before someone points it out, yes I had company. There was this guy, supposedly a driver, who was there to help me with the ways (and drive occasionally if I let him :P). Now, this guy was one irritating dumb-fuck. He had stories about how he was Mr. Delhi two years in a row and how he used to model for JK Tyres etc etc. And over and above all that, the bugger was twice as horizontally challenged as yours truly 😛 To make matters worse, we had Karisma Kapoor promoting Dangerous Ishq on some random radio channel and this guy was hell-bent on listening to her songs from the 90’s 😀 (to be honest I didn’t mind that too much. Remember ‘Haseena maan jaayegi’ :D)

Anyhow, the trip in itself was pretty awesome. My ‘mid-range’ Android smart phone was a savior. The idiot of a driver knew nothing about the route from Kanpur to Patna. As it turns out, GPS is pretty darn accurate! I have never had so much road-side food in my life. Every place I traversed was famous for something or the other. Two days, over 1100 km and 2 kg increase in weight later, I safely reached home. Now, to cut out on all the jibber-jabber and get back to the real reason behind the post, here are some pics from the trip 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They said, the journey of a thousand miles begins with about 30 liters of petrol in your Chevy Beat. What they didn’t say, is it could leave you with blistered foot and an aching bum. What I want to say is, “It’s totally worth it!”

Leave a Reply

